Help + advice


About Western Australia

Western Australia has several distinct regions:

Close to Asia

Western Australia is in the same time zone as many Asian regions and only a short flight from many capital cities in Asia, the sub-continent, and the Gulf States.  This makes many students feel closer to home and makes it easy to keep in contact with friends and family on the telephone.

Australian Time zones

There are three time zones in Australia, due to its large size. During the summer period some parts of Australia have daylight saving, but not here in Western Australia.

Please see below for the time zones in Australia.

Western standard time (WST)

AEST minus 2 hours
Western Australia

Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST)

Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) plus +10 hours
Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria

Central Standard Time (CST)

AEST minus 30 mins
South Australia, Northern Territory

Australian daylight saving time (ADST) end of October – end of March

AEST plus 1 hour
Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, Victoria

Useful links

Added to shortlist view shortlist0
  • You have not added any courses to the shortlist yet.